By Pamela Bacon
April 7, 2021
Motor Vehicle Information:
REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS C.R.S 42-1-102(81) C.R.S 42-3-103 & 42-6-140
• All vehicles owned or operated by a Colorado resident must be registered.
• One of the named owners is required to be presented for all new registration transactions with secure and verifiable identification.
• A named owner can provide a non-secure power of attorney to their agent/another person to do the transaction for them. Which needs to include the grantor’s (named owner’s) secure and verifiable identification information and the agents secure and verifiable identification information is required to be presented for all new registration transactions to someone other than a named owner.
* Colorado residency is established when one of the following criteria is met:
* Own or operate a business in Colorado.
* Reside in Colorado continuously for 90 days.
* Obtain employment in Colorado.
Motor vehicle registration must be completed within 60 days after purchase of a vehicle.
* Vehicles must be physically located in Colorado to register the vehicle.
A Colorado address is mandatory as the legal address.
*A Post Office Box is not acceptable as a legal address, but may be used for the mailing address.
* A Colorado based business, with branch offices in other states, may not title and register the business vehicles in Colorado unless the vehicles are physically located in this state.
* A Letter of Authorization or a Corporate Resolution to Borrow/Grant Collateral Letter granting permission for the agent to act on behalf of the company and the agent’s secure and verifiable identification information are required for any business to complete a new registration transaction.
All applications for vehicle registrations must be made at the County Motor Vehicle Office in the county of residence.
Criteria used to establish residency in the county is: C.R.S 42-6-139.
• Primary place of residence; used when registering a personal vehicle; utilizes the same laws and regulations that apply to voter registration.
• Business address; used when registering a business vehicle that is in the business name and where the vehicle is primarily operated and maintained. When the place of residence or business address does not apply, the address where the vehicle is primarily domiciled and maintained may be used.
• Colorado Proof of Insurance is required.
Note: C.R.S. 42-3-103 (4)(a) motor vehicle registration must be completed within 90 days after becoming a resident of Colorado.
• C.R.S 42-3-115(2)(b) allows a vehicle buyer to operate the vehicle prior to registering the vehicle if it was purchased within the last 36 hours from a person who is not a motor vehicle dealer, purchased either on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, or between 5:00 P.M. and 8:00 A.M. or the vehicle is being driven from the place of purchase to the place where it will be stored until it is registered. The buyer must possess a bill of sale that shows the time and date of the sale, is signed by the buyer and the seller, and possess proof of insurance.
The Election and Recording Department can be reached at 522-1544 for voter and election questions or recording information. The Motor Vehicle Department can be reached at 522-1158 for license plates/renewals or titling a vehicle. You can also reach our office by email at firstname.lastname@example.org . Like us on Facebook at Logan County Elections/MotorVehicle/Recording