## **RECORDER'S NOTES**

## By Pamela Bacon Logan County Clerk and Recorder

## **MOTOR VEHICLE INFORMATION:**

Buying a Vehicle-buyer responsibilities

Within 60 days upon sale of a motor vehicle, the buyer must either register the vehicle or present the certificate of title to Logan County Motor Vehicle office.

- 1. <u>Endorse title:</u> Make sure the seller(s) whose name(s) appear on the front of the title, properly endorses the title over to you in order to avoid problems at the Motor Vehicle office. Complete the buyer's area (only one signature is required to acknowledge the odometer on the buyer's side of a Colorado title) <u>Please note:</u> if Joint Tenancy is desired all buyers must complete the DR2395 Joint Tenancy document.
- 2. Provide Secure and Verifiable I.D. Example: Driver's License, Colorado I.D or U. S. Passport
- 3. **Provide valid proof of insurance** on the vehicle being registered.

All sales taxes will be collected at the time you title your vehicle or obtain a 60-day temporary permit.

You may grant someone Power of Attorney (DR2175) to title and register a vehicle for you. This form requires the grantor's signature to be notarized. Any alterations or errors will void this document.

**BUYERS BEWARE:** if you purchase a vehicle without proper ownership documents, you may need to apply for a title by following the surety bonding procedure. The DR2922 "Title or Salvage Title Established by Surety Bond" procedures packet is available at the Logan County Motor Vehicle Office.

## If you have purchased a vehicle from another state:

- Provide Secure and Verifiable ID
- Your out of state title properly assigned & notarized (if required by that state)
- A bill of sale
- A Vehicle Identification Verification form DR2698 (completed by Colorado law enforcement, a licensed Colorado motor vehicle dealer.)
- Current odometer reading if vehicle is less than 20 years old.
- Proof of insurance for this vehicle.
- An acceptable mortgage document if the vehicle is being financed. (The title work may be mailed to your motor vehicle office by an out of state dealership. Please contact your dealership to find out the status of your paperwork)

<u>If you purchased a vehicle and the title is branded</u> such as "Rebuilt from Salvage" or "Salvaged". You will be required to complete a DR2710 Branded Title Disclose to acknowledge any and all brands that appear on the title. Note: If you purchased a vehicle that is branded, then both the Seller and Buyer must complete the disclosure form acknowledging the selling of a branded vehicle and mark all brands that appear on the title.

NOTE: The information above is provided as a guideline to assist Logan County residents when purchasing a vehicle. There may be additional crucial papers required after a County Motor Vehicle Clerk examines documents presented.

The Election and Recording Department can be reached at 522-1544 for voter and election questions or recording information. The Motor Vehicle Department can be reached at 522-1158 for license plates/renewals or titling a vehicle. You can also reach our office by email at <a href="mailto:baconp@logancountyco.gov">baconp@logancountyco.gov</a> . Like us on Facebook at Logan County Elections/MotorVehicle/Recording!