REQUIREMENTS TO GET A MARRIAGE LICENSE

In accordance with the requirements below, a license to marry in Colorado may be obtained in the office of the Logan County Clerk & Recorder, located in the Logan County Courthouse, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (except holidays).

- 1) Proof of Identification
 - a. Examples: United States issued Drivers' License, United States issued Identification Card, Original Birth Certificate, United States Passport.
- 2) Both Parties MUST be 18 or Older
 - a. If one or both parties are 16 or 17 a Court Order is required.
- 3) Divorced or Widowed
 - a. Divorced- provide the date finalized, name of the court, city and state of the court.
 - b. Widowed- date and location of death.
- 4) Basic Information:
 - a. Birth date, City and State of birth, last 4 digits of Social Security Number, parents' names and current location if living.
- 5) Cost
 - a. \$30.00 Cash, Credit, or Debit
 - b. Checks are NOT accepted
- 6) The License MUST be used in the State of Colorado within 35 days.
 - a. A license not used within 35-day period MUST be returned to be voided.
- 7) Generally, both parties come in together to get a marriage license:
 - a. If 1 person cannot come in, an "Absentee Affidavit Application for Marriage License" is required. The form MUST be filled out completely and signed in the presence of a Notary of Public, and MUST have a copy of the ID the Notary used. The form and copy of ID will take the place of the absent party.
 - b. At least one of the parties must apply in person before the Clerk.
- 8) Allow approximately 30 minutes to issue a marriage license.
 - a. Appointments are recommended, contact the office to schedule appointments.
- 9) Parties already married, who wish to renew marriage vows, or who are married by Common Law may obtain a license.
- 10) Applicants for a marriage license do not need to be Colorado residents or United States citizen..