
Temporary Permits 
 
A Colorado auto dealer issues this permit when purchase of a new or 
used vehicle is made through the dealership. When the purchase of a 
vehicle is made from a private party, the new owner may, under certain 
circumstances obtain a temporary permit from our office.   

Individual to Individual Sale 

• The following paperwork can be submitted as proof of the sale:  
• The assigned title or A Bill of Sale (notarized or signed under penalty of perjury) with proof of 

ownership, (registration, copy of title…)   

Delays in the Filing of the Mortgage (Paperwork has not been submitted by the bank) 

• A temporary registration permit may be issued when there is proof that there has been a delay 
in the filing of the mortgage.  

• Request from Financial Institution on a new purchase Letter from a financial institution 
indicating that a temporary registration permit may be issued.  

• The letter must include: Date, Description of the vehicle, and Names of the purchaser(s), state 
that the vehicle is being financed and all taxes collected in the loan.  

• If any sales taxes are due, they must be paid at the time the temporary permit is issued. (See 
Sales Tax Information) The letter must be signed by an authorized agent for the financial 
institution. The permit cannot be issued for more than 60 days.  
 

PROOF OF INSURANCE ON A VEHICLE OWNED BY THE INDIVIDUAL ISSUED THE PERMIT IS 
REQUIRED TO OBTAIN A TEMPORARY PERMIT. (SEE INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS) 
SECURE & VERIFIABLE I.D. IS REQUIRED FROM THE INDIVIDUAL ISSUED A TEMPORARY 
PERMIT 
A PERMIT MAY BE ISSUED TO AN INDIVIDUAL USING A POWER OF ATTORNEY. 
FEES: $7.08 PLUS ANY APPLICABLE TAXES OR LATE FEES. 
 
A permit may also be used to take a vehicle from Colorado to another state for licensing. 
 
A second permit may be issued when a problem is discovered in the paperwork necessary for 
transfer of title to the new owner. A second permit is issued at our discretion and may be issued for 
less than 30 days. 
 

• Temporary permits are issued at the discretion of the county clerk.  
• Please contact our office for more information. 
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