By Pamela Bacon
Logan County Clerk and Recorder
Colorado Revised Statues 18-8-114 Abuse of Records is the Colorado code section that defines the offense of Abuse of Records.
A person commits this offense if he or she:
- knowingly makes a false entry in or falsely alters any public record; or
- knowing the person lacks authority to do so, knowingly destroys, mutilates, conceals, removes, or impairs the availability of a public record; or
- knowing the person lacks authority to keep the record, refuses to deliver the public record after a proper request for that record; or
- knowing the person has not been authorized by the keeper of the public record to do so, knowingly alters any public record.
What is a Public Record?
A public record includes all official:
- papers, or
that have been
- received, or
by or in any governmental office or agency.
What are the penalties for committing this offense?
Abuse of records is a Class 1 misdemeanor in the State of Colorado. If convicted, a person faces the following criminal penalties:
- possible 6 months to a maximum of 18 months in jail; and
- a fine of $500 up to a maximum of $5,000; or
PLAN AHEAD: Logan County Offices will be closed Monday, July 5, 2021 to celebrate Independence Day!
The Election and Recording Department can be reached at 522-1544 for voter and election questions or recording information. The Motor Vehicle Department can be reached at 522-1158 for license plates/renewals or titling a vehicle. You can also reach our office by email at firstname.lastname@example.org . Like us on Facebook at Logan County Elections/MotorVehicle/Recording